My Heart Will Go On… and On, and On, and On, and On, and On, and On…

You hardly ever really notice it’s secure movements.

You never quite ever hear its beautiful rhythm.

You never feel the poetic way it labors every second to keep us alive.

We’ve heard the expression, “Stop and smell the roses.”

Well, I say, “Stop and listen to your heart beat.”

According to Google:

“If you use an average of 80 beats per minute, your heart beats about 4,800 times per hour.  That’s a whopping 115, 200 times per day.  Over the course of a year, your heart would beat about 42,048,000 times!  If you live to be 80 years old, your heart would have beaten approximately 3,363,840,000 times!”

In an average lifetime, our heart would beat about an average of 3 Billion Times.

That’s insane!

When was the last time you stopped and just felt your heart beat?  You hovered your hand over your chest, closed your eyes, and just listened.

Maybe at night before you fell asleep?  If you could ever manage to stop worrying about tomorrow, Or next week, Or next year,  could you listen to what your heart is telling you?

Could you feel what your heart is trying to say in the morning?  When you’re contemplating whether you reeeally need to get out of bed.  “I really don’t need a paycheck right?”  “I really don’t need to feed my kids and send them to school right?”  Then you start seeing red bills and hearing child services knocking at your door, and you jump out of bed.

If our heart will beat 3 billion times.  It must say something important right?

We need to stop and listen to our heart beat.

Listen carefully.  It says a mouth full.

You can begin to hear it speak…

“You’re alive.   You’re alive.  You’re alive. You’re alive because He told me to keep you alive.  He told me to pump all your blood throughout your body and keep all your organs functioning correctly.  He told me to flow oxygen and nutrients to your cells.  He said this was temporary and something might go wrong in my given task, but one day He will make me better and more new.  I didn’t know what he was talking about. 

As he was forming me, he whispered these things to me.  He said I was the functioning center of the child he was creating.  

He said my work will at times be difficult.  I will experience anxiety.  Pain and hurt.   

Afraid, I said, “Yes God.”

He told me not to be afraid if my work became to tiring and strenuous.  That if I began to fail,  He would be my strength, that He heals broken hearts.  He promised never to leave me or forsake me.  I will be with you in every heart beat.  Billions of heart beats. 

He said, my life won’t be all work and pain.  He said I will feel joy as well. 

I began to feel more than just a physical organ in your chest.  Like I was meant for more. He made me to keep you alive physically and spiritually.  I don’t know exactly how that works.  I’m not God. 

As he was finishing molding the last part of me, He said, “The most important task I will give you is to … Love.  I will show you what love means.”

Stop and listen to your heart.  It has a lot to say.

For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book!

Search me, God, and know my heart;

test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

-Psalm 139

Leave a comment